I Believe in Nashville®

So, I had a pretty cool weekend.  I just thought I should let you guys know about it.

On Friday, I performed at Jed’s Writer’s Night.  I met a ton of awesome, talented singer-songwriters (read: I networked) and had a fantastic time!  (Hopefully I’ll have a video of my performance to upload soon.)

Saturday was homemade chocolate chip pancakes (YUM), a coupon for Panda Express that lasted me two meals (score), 10 Cloverfield Lane (weird), The Choice (typical Nicholas Sparks movie) and dog sitting (have I ever mentioned I love dogs?).  It was a good day to chill and get some coveted alone time.

The next day, I found an awesome church with awesome music, had lunch and ice cream with a friend, took a picture at the “I Believe in Nashville” mural, and attempted to teach myself to play the accordion at Guitar Center.

IMG_8151 (1)
I believe in Nashville…and lemon meringue ice cream from Sprinkles

Sunday night, I met a friend in Springfield, TN for a free For King & Country concert.  I have a huge amount of love and respect for those guys.  I saw them in concert when they were first starting out (as the opening for the opening act at Winter Jam) and they’ve continued to grow into this awesome, energetic, talented band.

I slept later on Monday than I’ve probably ever slept in my life (11 a.m. whoo-hoo) and my friends/roomies/classmates and I made stir fry and watched Nacho Libre while it stormed.  We then decided to brave the weather and drive to Nashville for the “Let Freedom Ring” celebration.

Nearby parking was ridiculous (as always) but we got a decent spot and shouldered our lawn chairs, umbrellas, rain coats and even a rain poncho for the trek to the amphitheater.  It started to rain right before we got to security, which is where they informed us that we couldn’t bring in the lawn chairs or the large umbrella.

Great.

We ended up walking all the way back to the car (in the pouring rain) to put up the chairs/apparently too large umbrella, then all the way back to the venue.  Thankfully, the weather kept a ton of people away and we were able to stand fairly close to the stage.

Sheryl Crow was the headliner, and she was amazing.  I didn’t even know that I apparently like Sheryl Crow, and I definitely respect her way more now.  The woman rocked.  She played guitar, bass, and a killer harmonica solo and sang like an angel while rocking some pretty patriotic pants.  The Nashville Symphony joined her for the last few songs, and then it was time for the fireworks.

Oh. My. Wow.

The symphony played while fireworks went off for like 3o minutes.  They started with a big Star Wars medley and played a few marches and patriotic songs and ended with “Stars and Stripes Forever.”

Needless to say, this weekend made it into the top 5 best Fourth of July weekends in my book.  And to top it all off, I’ve finally tried Nashville hot chicken. (Yum.)

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 12.51.56 PM

 

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I am thinking Nashville fits you like a glove!!

  2. Woo hoo! Prince’s hot chicken?? Sounds like all is going well…can’t wait to have you tell your intern stories when you come back to the Delta:)

  3. So glad you are adapting to your surroundings. I love exploring the large cities and blending with the locals. Have a great rest of your internship and networking.

Leave a Reply

