full speed

“They say life is an uphill climb, but I have to disagree.  I say life is a quick decline, running downhill at full speed…”

Yep.

I don’t know if you ever feel that way, but I certainly do.

“It doesn’t seem right that I never have the time to even watch the sun set.”

Or, I guess, I never make the time.  There’s a difference between having and making time, I suppose.

(I think on these things as my summer slips away…)

Don’t get me wrong, I’m super-super-super excited to get back to school and my surprise-studded routine that’s simultaneously hectic and comfortable.  (I’ve even kind of started packing up my dorm stuff.  No joke.)  But I feel like someone jerked the rug out from under my summer.

HELP, I’VE BEEN ROBBED!

I really shouldn’t complain about this summer.  It’s been the best summer I’ve ever had.  Seriously.  I actually kind of got a vacation (my escape from the tomato shed, YAY), I have more than one source of income, I’ve spent time with friends and family and beyond, had some good (and bad) learning experiences, and there’s still more to come.

I finally, finally, FINALLY get to see my favorite band–Switchfoot–perform live (in 18 days, 21 hours, and 32 minutes at the time I am writing this), which is a complete dream come true.  And, hey, I get to go to Nashville (twice) and meet some pretty awesome people (details on that later) and, hey, make a music video.

(More details to come as far as that goes…)

Sometimes I begin writing a post with one central idea in mind and it morphs into something else entirely.  Sometimes I begin with a central idea and end with a meaningless stream of babbling, and I’m sure that no one can even begin to decipher what I’m talking about or “what’s the point.”  Hopefully this is somewhere between the two.  But, just in case:

HERE’S THE POINT(S):

  • Music video details to come.
  • My summer = gone too quickly, but awesome.
  • Life = a quick decline, running downhill at full speed.

Guess that’s all for now.

Things just need to slow down.

-Jessica Faith

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Great post, Jessica…and “AMEN!” on trying to make the summer slow down….whew…in the blink of an eye:) So excited about your upcoming video! It’s going to be GREAT! Good luck:) See you soon back at the DMI….

  2. You are right! This summer has gone by too fast, and I feel I haven’t spent “quality time” with you. Love you.
    P.S. DSU called and said you can not come back so you have to stay home with me!

Leave a Reply

