celebrity encounters

So, I had a pretty awesome Thursday.

Pretty.

Awesome.

So, as some of you may know, I’m one of the winners of a certain Grammy U Amplifier contest, which led to the awesomeness described in my last post.

And, as others (or the same) of you may know, it’s mostly thanks to the amplifiers (aka people who listened and shared my song) that I won.

(THANKS, by the way.)

But, as others/the same may know, the final decision of choosing 3 winners from the top 25 depended on four amazing artists (“curators”) who listened to each of those 25 songs and picked their favorites.

Screen Shot 2014-04-11 at 1.19.49 PM

I got to personally thank one of those four yesterday…

When I heard that I would have a chance to meet this person, I freaked.

Totally.

I was sick in my bed a week and a half ago (my awesome mom brought me homemade soup, yay) when I found out via Facebook that I would have the opportunity to meet this person at a GRAMMY U event.  I signed up for it immediately, and pulled all kinds of strings so that I could go. And, with a few other awesome GRAMMY U members, the trip was fantastic.

The “Off the Record” aka Q&A session was at a high school, and about fifty sixteen-year-old girls had heart attacks when the artist walked onstage.

(I mean, some of us college girls probably did the same.)

(After all, it was Hunter Hayes.)

That’s right.  The adorable, phenomenally-talented, slightly-shorter-than-average-height country star, Hunter Hayes.

After an awesome Q&A, GRAMMY U members lined up in front of the stage for a photo with Hunter.  He came out front and started working his way around the bundle of college kids, shaking hands and introducing himself (as if we didn’t already know who he was…).  I was totally prepared for the moment when he made his way to me.  He shook my hand and I said, “You judged the Grammy U Amplifier Contest.”

He said, “Yeah.”

I said something along the lines of, “Well, thank you so much, because you helped me win.”  Then I held out a copy of my CD for him to see the photo on the front–the same one I used for my Amplifier profile–and he recognized it and said something along the lines of, “Oh my gosh” and/or “awesome” and/or “great song!” and/or bursted into song and the entire auditorium erupted into an awesome music number (okay, that totally didn’t happen) BUT WHAT DID HAPPEN is I was excited and he was excited and then he gave me a giant hug.

He said, “That’s awesome!”

I said, “Thanks!”

My heart said *swoon*

(Okay, I’m trying not to gush and sound like a fangirl because, I mean, he’s just a person [though he happens to be an adorable and fantastically talented person] but I’m still a teenage girl [19 & 1/2 is still teenage, right?] and just. yeah.)

So anyway, I think I made a decent impression.  I didn’t lose the ability to speak like I did when Aloe Blacc complimented me (great job, Jessica, GREAT. JOB.).

Afterwards, we girls (the three I travelled with and myself) had a great girl day and decided on a whim to try and buy tickets for Hunter’s concert.  We got four decent seats, and the concert was great and the opening acts were great and that little Hunter Hayes can sing, play, move, and write the heck out of a song.

Just saying.

Oh, hey, here’s a picture.

Screen Shot 2014-04-11 at 1.30.38 PM

(Sorry it’s all chopped off.  Reasons.)

(He makes me feel tall ohmygosh.)

(That never happens.)

(Oh, and I’m WAY happier in this photo than I look.)

(as;dfj;ladjsf;ojgkljdf;asdfo;ihw;of.)

* * * * *

Anyway, it was just awesome.  REALLY AWESOME.  Thanks so much to GRAMMY U for making it all possible.

Meanwhile, I procrastinate writing my history paper (again) and pack to go home for the weekend.

Peace.

(That’s soooo not me, but whatever.)

Peace.

-Jessica Faith

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Mark that one off your bucket list!!!! I know I am totally AWESOME!!

Leave a Reply

