the most difficult thing ever

So, when I performed my first real gig (which was, ashamedly, quite recently), I thought that writing a setlist was the most difficult thing ever.

And, yeah. It’s pretty tough.

Then, when I had to write an article about…myself I said, “Nope. This is worse.”

It was.

But. I have found something that is even worse and more terrifying and more annoying and stressful and it really is the most difficult thing ever.

(I have recently decided to make use of bold and italicized font because I’m pretty sure that using all-caps would annoy some of you.)

(Some of you. Holy cow, there are people reading this.)

(RUN FOR YOUR LIVES.)

(Please, don’t. Really.)

THE MOST DIFFICULT THING EVER IS…

…writing an artist bio.

Seriously.

IT IS SO DIFFICULT.

Oops. Sorry for the all-capsness. (New word. Like it?)

But, yeah. It’s really difficult.

Now, one might say, “But, Jessica, you’re writing a blog, which is all you, you, YOU. Why should writing your own bio be any different?”

Well, this individual might have a valid point. But. It is different. Because…well, a blog is writing as me, not about me. Writing as myself is easy, because it’s easy to be random and strange and, well, whatever I am… But when I start trying to write about myself, I start having panic attacks and self esteem crashes and I’m all like

WHO AM I?

WHAT AM I DOING?

WHY AM I HERE?

WHAT IS MUSIC?

WHAT IS AIR?

(Sorry, now I’m going all Tumblr Fangirl on you guys, but you get the point.)

Point is, I have issues talking about myself.

Does this even make sense?

Anyone wanna take a stab at writing my artist bio?!

;D aheheh…

* * * * *

Annnnywho. Um. I have no idea what I’m doing with this blog thingy. (I need a pet name for my blog so I don’t have to keep referring to it–him? her?–as a “thingy.”) Have I really run out of things to talk about?

(Not likely.)

So. Mayyyybe you wonderful readers would like to suggest things for me to write about…??

And maybe I’ll end with a quote again…

“Tonight the Super Trouper lights are gonna find me – Shining like the sun – Smiling, having fun – Feeling like a number one…”

-Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus

(Tell me what band(?) those guys are from and I’ll give you my panda hat.)

(Wait. I love my panda hat. YOU CAN’T HAVE IT.)

(I’ll give you a drawing of my panda hat. Close enough.)

-Jessica Faith

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. It wouldn’t be fair for me to spoil everyone’s fun in guessing which band (since I introduced you to them) it is AND since I can wear your panda hat any time I like……….

  2. I totally agree, Jessica…really hard for an artist to write objectively (and productively) about themselves…I’d be looking for a good English major with an interest in music to interview you and create your next artist bio…it’s definitely a different type of writing…keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

